New Year New Hope

rough sketch for calligraphy illustration; memorial Newtown, CN angel

rough sketch for calligraphy illustration; memorial Newtown, CN angel; click to see enlarged

Blessings and Happy New Year to everyone. Beginning 2013 I am making a commitment to write once a week for Rejoycin’, now at whitebrickhouse <dot> wordpress <dot> com. I like to divide up some of my time that was spent on blog posts to developing my website, seeking God for direction for Rejoycin’, following through with that, and continue to write weekly posts centered around “God Doodles”.  God Doodles seems to be the direction that would benefit my purpose in Rejoycin’,  a mission to share the gospel through scripture illustrations.

Praise the LORD! Praise the LORD from the heavens, praise him in the heights! Praise him, all his angels, praise him, all his host! Psalm 148: 1,2

Above is a sketch inscribed with names of the Newtown CN victims in my thoughts and concern for the families. I like to develop this in calligraphy and send it to the families of the 26 gone from this earth on that tragic day we will not forget. This is an example of what I refer to as a God Doodle— a step that can be a finished piece of art. Personally, I often enjoy the sketches of an artist much more than finished artwork. There is energy and pure emotion in sketches that can be lost in final artwork.

Moving forward, I am happy and most drawn to the direction of illustrating the names of Christ— first sketches then adapting the roughs to electronic, and at times, traditional illustrations—or a combination of the two. My hope is that I can develop of line of apparel/book to showcase the art and His Word.

For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him will the Son of Man also be ashamed when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holy angels Mark 8:38

Til’ next post, be well!

3 thoughts on “New Year New Hope

    • Thank you, I have taken a bit of a sabbatical from blogging. I have the utmost appreciate and respect for yourself and others who commit to daily sharing of His Word! Surely his ‘pencils’ will receive a special crown!!!
      “I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God
      who is sending a love letter to the world.”
      -Mother Teresa of Calcutta

  1. Happy & Blessed New Year to you and your Family. What a wonderful sketch.
    The families who lost their loved ones will be honored to receive this beautiful remembrance. (PS: I have been out-of-touch because of computer problems, but here I am.) Love to all.

Leave a Reply

