Ezrati, Hebrew for God is My Helper

18_christmas-countdownIt is pouring in Philadelphia—not looking much like Christmas, as we know it. The weather has been warmer than I can remember for the season.  My heart continues to cry out to God for help, for others, for our nation and in my family.

The one thing everyone has in common is that we all have needs. We each have an area in our life that is less than desirable or a family member that burdens our heart. Perhaps you just lost a loved one or you are watching a loved one fade away— physically, mentally or emotionally. Or, the excitement of the season is building and what you like to do for your children you are unable to do. Or, you are willing and able to do for your children but their interests do not include you. God did not promise us a life void of pain and suffering. He did promise to help us through.

In yesterdays post I wrote that a name given to Christ in the bible is “Helper”—“Ezrati” in Hebrew:

In Psalm 40:18 David cries out:
But I am poor and needy;
may Adonai think of me.
You are my helper and rescuer;
my God, don’t delay!

Today a quote was in my Facebook Newsfeed from GodVine photos, “When life gives you more than you can stand, kneel!” This seems the overwhelming message of this season. Some disappointments and pain we can not avoid but there are other disappointments that may be a result of our overzealous expectations (finger pointing at me). If we are focused on Christ and His birth this Christmas and meeting Him, and end our expectations here, God will meet our expectations. The Word says if we seek Him first, He will restore the balance of all that we need.¹ The verse that follows advises us not to worry or be anxious on tomorrow, there is enough trouble in today.
What I complete in time for Christmas will be done and likewise, what is incomplete will not concern me. My tree stands undecorated (Auntie Em² referred to this as my “green Christmas”) and the to-do list will be addressed as time permits. It seems other things have taken priority this year and God is at the top.
Kneel, Cry Out, Call Out, Seek His Face, Pray.
Luv Denise
¹“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”  Matthew 6:33,34 ESV. Read the context of the verse in Matthew 6.
²http://auntieemsguide.wordpress.com/
5 thoughts on “Ezrati, Hebrew for God is My Helper

  1. Really needed this, thank you. I can relate to some of the struggles you mention, and love the idea of Christ restoring the balance of all that we need. Beautiful and comforting.
    May you be blessed by Him this Christmas, in all the complete things, and the incomplete. Thank God HE is all we need, wherever we are at.

  2. I felt as though you wrote this for me. We are being faced with so many things as of late, many of which you mentioned. “If we seek Him first, He will restore the balance we need.” Bless you Denise for this comforting message.

Leave a Reply

