Seek HIs Face

16_christmas-countdownLook to the Lord and his strength;
seek his face always.(NIV) Psalm 105:4

My commitment this month was to write each day until the 25th and I have kept it thus far. Today, everything in me says to seek Him, in quiet, in reading His Word, in being still and rest.

The instruction in Psalm 105:4 suggests that we go to the Lord to know Him. The suggestion is not a gimmee-gimmee prayer but one of relationship. The words “seek His face” say to me ‘up close and personal’! If I was to seek the face of a friend I would be ‘in their eyes ’, so to speak, connecting intimately. This is not a casual invitation but an invitation to be actively engaged in going after God and learning of Him and to build our understanding of Him.

Although I am unable to sit next to Christ today as I would a friend, I can read His Word¹ and meditate on it. I can praise and worship Him in service this morning and throughout the day. As we draw near to God He promises to meet with us, James 4:8. This verse also speaks to me to pray and ask God how I can know Him more and in quiet, listen for Him to speak to my heart. I may also seek His face in serving others or sitting with those who have developed a close relationship to God and hearing them share.bestill

Ultimately, God will lead you in how to seek Him as you desire to do so and take a step in His direction. This week has ended in devastation with the massacre in Newtown, Connecticut. We need God and His strength to bring us all through.

Peace to you and your family.

¹As you may have read in my postings, or you have prior knowledge, God’s Word in the bible is God.; In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. John 1:1;

²Be still, and know that I [am] God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. Psalms 46:10

6 thoughts on “Seek HIs Face

  1. We are called to seek Him. With the recent tragedies we can’t help but do so.
    2 Chronicles 7:14
     if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

  2. In keeping with your commitment to write each day this month until the 25th, you are enabling me to focus “quietly” on your words. I want to thank you for these beautiful words and your thoughts. Many prayers to the parents, families, friends and first responders of the Newtown, CT tragedy.

    • Thank you Barb— that means a lot to me. It was difficult today, Monday, Dec 17 not only because of the Newtown, Conn situation but also Christmas visiting and personal stuff. The Newtown incident is difficult to lie down but as I shared in today’s post, lift up may be a more accurate direction. Interesting you noted prayers for the responders—you understand as a prior officer the pain and agony those who responded to the call must be gone through. Each days tragedies repeat and people are alone that are not in the media, buried in their grief many without help. We need Jesus. Only God and scripture can heal and penetrate where mere mortals can not.

Leave a Reply

