Wonder of A Counselor

5_Christmas CountdownWhen I began writing this blog, it wasn’t to share much of what you could find elsewhere but I was hoping it would be me sharing what Christ would speak into my heart to benefit others in the process of my own journey. Recently I feel I have been doing more of Christian service and I have begun missing being a His servant—serving through prayer and listening and forgiving, attitude and emotions.

God Doodle #7

God Doodle #7 *

It can creep in rather quickly; the hurt I may revisit, a negative comment that I may harbor, over-committing my time and disregard in caring for myself, such as lack of sleep and exercise. This is leaving the door open to negative emotions and attitude which can quickly snowball. Add Christmas preparation and current challenges and an alarm went off in my spirit to be on alert!  In response, let me share The Word of our Wonderful Counselor and receive His wisdom for this moment:

On Prayer, But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. Matthew 6:6 ESV

On Listening, And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left. Isaiah 30:21 ESV. If we abide in God He will abide in us and direct our paths!

On Forgiving, And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”  Mark 11:25 ESV

On Attitude, Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:8-9 ESV

On Emotions, Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

On Keeping Positive, I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13 ESV

On Caring for Ourselves, For you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. 1 Corinthians 6:20 ESV

On Rest, And he said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” For many were coming and going, and they had no leisure even to eat. Mark 6:31 ESV

On Difficult Times, But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 ESV

On Serving God, Only fear the Lord and serve him faithfully with all your heart. For consider what great things he has done for you. 1 Samuel 12:24 ESV

Dear Father, Help us to keep You at the center of this season; when we shop, when we gather, when we do good deeds—have them be God deeds. Help us to hear the needs of others that you speak into our hearts and open our eyes to see. Place in us a heart pliable and willing to serve the needs of others. Keep us alert and ready to dismiss thoughts of unforgiveness, bitterness, sadness and lack so that You can be all You want to be in our lives.

     Help us to keep our mind fixed on praiseworthy things and not permit anxiety to enter. We ask that you remind us to guard our hearts and increase our faith in Your Faithfulness. We trust that all of our needs are met and we will share the overflow with others in greater need. Our confidence is Your strength in us. We will preserve our strength by caring for our bodies, resting in you and trusting you in difficulties knowing you will be glorified through them.  Thank you Lord for loving us enough. Amen

*Please visit <https://whitebrickhouse.wordpress.com/denise-doodles-daily/> for an explanation of the God Doodle

Leave a Reply

