The Lighter Side of Sandy

Top 10 Quotes That Appeared in My Facebook Newsfeed During the Hurricane: 

#10  “[She] seriously asked if the toilet would still work because our power was out…” – A. Cahill

#9  “Put myself on timeout in my room before I really start disliking my family….” – A. Cahill

#8  “No power= My kids are forced to talk to each other without use of electronics….this is entertainment.” – C. Iaocovelli

#7  “I’m grateful that a couple of D batteries will start a fire!”- S. Hall

#6  “OMG we just cleaned out the freezer, had ourselves Turkey Hill Black Cherry Milk Shake! Not all is bad when you have a power outage! ;-)” – M. DiNardo

#5   “Annnd, buh-bye, power.” – C. Lipkin

#4  “I’m so confused…. we barely had any real wind here.” – C. Visco

#3  “Still NO Power ! Sitting in my car ! So I can go on my FB !” – I. Ioannucci

#2  “Listening to Kenny, Nicole and Tiff fighting down the basement over Xbox….I’m about to go down and beat them with the paddles then I’m building Kenny a rowboat so he can go to work tomorrow and take the girls with him….BTW my mom just put herself on timeout in Nicole’s room  – A. Cahill

#1  “WE GOT THE POWER!!!!!.” – C. Lipkin
Sadly, the ending for many was not as positive, and for some devastating.

Kathleen Doyle

Great Bard, K. Doyle

The following photo from Kathy Doyle was shared with the message, “Nature shows and teaches us life lessons”. “This tree didn’t resist the storm…it let go and as a result it fell but didn’t break. Unlike the other tree last year that stood it’s ground and snapped under pressure. This tree will live and stand tall again… with a little help”.

KDoyle_#thankful#sandy#

“bye bye tree number two”, photo: K. Doyle

Who taught the sun where to stand in the morning?
And who told the ocean you can only come this far?
And who showed the moon where to hide till evening?
Whose words alone can catch a falling star?

The very same God that spins things in orbit
Runs to the weary, the worn and the weak
And the same gentle hands that hold me when I’m broken
They conquered death to bring me victory

I know my Redeemer lives!

Nicole C. Mullins – My Redeemer Lives

Leave a Reply

