Affirming Love

Aibileen speaks words of affirmation to the child in The Help: “You is kind, you is smart, you is important”.

Love spoken, love received and love embraced. The child lifts her hand and reaches toward Aibileen’s face—as if to caress the words. I can watch this scene again and again. Combined with education and faith, affirmation may be one of the three ingredients to reach for the goals we desire. OK—financial support certainly does not hurt either!

Powerful PyramidA special friend of mine often quotes, “Man proposes but God disposes”.¹
This likely reflects the message of Proverbs 16:9 which states,“The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps”.

These words of wisdom attest that even if we have the skills, confidence and tenacity to succeed, the outcome of our efforts is in the hands of God. Consequently, a more accurate illustration would be to include God in the mighty triangle.

The six points of the Star of David symbolize God’s rule over the universe in all six directions: north, south, east, west, up and down.

So does that mean we can just sit around, twiddle our thumbs, and wait for a magical moment when God will intervene and move us into our divine purpose? (Big theological question of predestination here!) Certainly not. If we pray, seek God for direction and listen, our heart will line up with His will and we can choose to move forward confidently, as we acknowledge Him to guide our path.²

I pray that each of you reading today will not concede to anything less than God’s best for you. Our heavenly Father wants us to obtain the very best He has for us. He speaks affirmation and encouragement to us through His Word. Where mortals may fail, God’s Word is rich in affirmation for the believer. The following are just a few affirmations about our identity in Jesus Christ derived from the New Testament:

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13
I am God’s workmanship created to produce good works.Ephesians 2:10
I have been chosen of God, and I am holy and beloved.Colossians 3:12
I have been made complete in Christ. 
Colossians 2:9-10
God loves me and has chosen me. 1 Thessalonians 1:4
I have been accepted by Christ.Romans 15:7
I have boldness and confident access to God through faith in Christ.Ephesians 3:12
I have been made complete in Christ. Colossians 2:9-10

Let’s equip ourselves with the confidence of who God says we are, hon our skills in our area of expertise and trust Him for the outcome.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. – Philippians 1:6

¹translated from “The Imitation of Christ” by Thomas Kempis.
²Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5,6
5 thoughts on “Affirming Love

  1. I have just signed up to be a coach for Team Kid. Reluctantly, I may add. Thank you for this! This week was my 3rd week and I have actually become to look forward to that day! Thank you for this clip. It reminded me of the message I started out wanting to give, the seeds I wanted to plant, the lives I wanted to make a difference in. What a great reminder this was!

    • Thank you so very much! I second guest this just a bit this morning when I posted it thinking if I am being to casual with Jesus but I dismissed it. He just Loves us so much!

Leave a Reply

