To Be Known—Amazing Love!

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” -Jeremiah 1:4,5

What did Jeremiah think when he heard this? The very Creator of the universe knew him before birth! God was familiar with Jeremiah’s strengths and his weaknesses and choose to set him aside for a special task. Talk about empowerment! God just went and bypassed any need for Jeremiah to visit the Self-Help section at Barnes & Noble. God affirmed that Jeremiah had purpose, that he was important and he was recognized.

O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. – Psalm 139: 1-3

The bible tells us that God even knows the number of hairs on our heads!¹ The bible is a Masterful love letter from our Creator to us.

Whether declared or unspoken, conscious or unidentified, we embody an aggressive desire for a deep intimacy that can only be satisfied in God. In Ecclesiastes², Solomon talks about seeking happiness in worldly things being unsatisfying and “utterly meaningless!” Solomon’s quest after knowledge, wisdom, philosophy, alcohol, architecture, property and luxury is described as vanities. His life illustrates emptiness and despair without purpose, without direction—without God. Solomon concludes, man is to fear God and keep His commandments³, for this is the whole duty of man.

Brent Riggs so accurately describes Godly fear as an “urge to fall flat on your face, to hide, and be totally gripped in reverence presence of a power so far superior, so incredibly overwhelming and so consuming that you can literally feel your human strength drain away at the mere thought of God’s presence“. The validating response would be a desire to follow God’s commandments. This is to love God. Consequently, the man who loves God is known by God.♥

The Good News is we all are given the choice to love God. We don’t have to clean up our life, be worthy of God or go to a certain church.

  • None of us are pure enough for God. The crucifixion enables us to know God through Jesus Christ.†
  • We can never be worthy of God. The bible tells us we can not work our way to salvation since that may result in us boasting of our own goodness.♦ (This would take the glory away from the Son of God.)
  • And, there is One church. God’s one true church is the universal body of believers everywhere who have given their hearts to Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord.◊

Through Jesus Christ we can experience knowing God intimately and personally.

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And hears me when I call

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts!
And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting! -Psalm 139: 23, 24

¹even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Matthew 10:30 ESV
²Old Testiment book in the Bible that follows Proverbs. It, rather pessimistically, shares Solomons views on life which concludes that man should love and fear God and obey His commandments from youth.
³ “If you love me, you will ckeep my commandments.” John 14:15 ESV
♥ But if anyone loves God, she is known by God. 1 Corinthians 8:3 ESV
Why did Jesus have to die on the cross
♦ not a result of works, so that no one may boast. Ephesians 2:9 ESV
◊ And He is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in everything he might be preeminent. Colossians 1:18
3 thoughts on “To Be Known—Amazing Love!

  1. Hi, I never quite do know where these posts are going. I have yet to define a ‘mission’ and I pray that I am sharing what God is pleased I am sharing. As a result of wanting to clarify and share accurately, I share what I have been taught and that I have insight on. In sharing I study, in studying I learn. Thank you for reading my posts. Please comment and share your thoughts. Thank you, Denise

Leave a Reply

