Help! My body feels like a Temple of Doom

photo by Carsten Knoch

I secretly envy landscapers, fitness gurus and beach ice cream cart vendors who have an active workday (not to mention sporting a tan body and soaking in vitamin D). Technical or desk jobs can rob us of our zeal and creativity, which are essential skills for today’s marketplace that commands innovative thinking! In addition to the impact it has on our emotional intelligence, sitting all day has been called “The New Smoking” by Dr. James Levine, of the Mayo Clinic.¹ Research shows that sitting too much contributes to obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure and premature death. I was inspired to make further changes to my workday and I hope that you also find an option or two to implement into your daily routine. The following list includes suggestions from Dr. Levine:²

LifeSpan Fitness Treadmill Desk

  1. Walk While Working: burn up calories and possibly boost your performance with a treadmill workstation; options from $480-$4,700
  2. DIY Stand Up Operation: CBN, Dorothy Schultz, simply attached two wooden blocks to the bottom of her regular desk, raising it about 10 inches and replaced her chair with a bar stool. She toggles between sitting and standing. $35.00
  3. Use a Stair-Stepper Periodically during work; pull it out from under your desk when you are on a phone call, $45.00+
  4. Walk and Talk Meetings, free
  5. Walking over to a co-workers desk instead of emailing, free
  6. Walk at lunch, free

I was inspired! Stay tuned for photos of my new workspace : )

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own,  for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. – 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

¹ Dr. James Levine, a Mayo Clinic endocrinologist, is a leading researcher on the health hazards of sitting too much. For the full article, see ².
² CBN.com, “Get Off Your Duff! Sitting is the “New Smoking” by Lorie Johnson, CBN News Medical Reporter
Video
More on this subject at www.bizjournals.com

Copyright 2012 by Denise Cotter Rejoycin®

7 thoughts on “Help! My body feels like a Temple of Doom

  1. I’ve been standing at my desk for probably 7-8 months now. I thought it would be hard, but I got used to it quickly and find that I have more energy to get up and do things on my days off. As my pregnancy progresses, I’ve been trying to listen to my body and take more seated breaks if I need them. I’ve also been using my lunch breaks to take a walk. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  2. Too many hours of driving for me…wish I could stand doing that! I have the old school “secretaries’ spread” …increasing thighs and butt!

Leave a Reply

