Thank you for Sunday.

Walking my dog Goldie this morning, I anticipated my return home and preparation to go to church. I observed the activities of others in the community. I was reflecting on whether many would go to church this morning, certainly not as judgment or a self-righteous pat on my back, but thinking on why people attend church on Sundays.

Would others go or not attend because of childhood impressions? Has the need for reprieve from a demanding lifestyle encouraged many to use this morning for recreation or fulfill home tasks? Or, would an internal prompting move others to bring their children, later to dismiss the act when the children are grown? Why was I going this morning? My conclusion, I need to go.

I am thankful to be aware that I need Christ and the church* and I recognize this as a strength.

Artist: Jann Farr

  • I go to church to worship God. This accomplishes God plan; we were created by God to bring Him pleasure. Rev 4:11
  • I go to meet with other believers to be encouraged and encourage. Hebrews 10:24-25; Study on fellowship
  • If not God, what would be my foundation? Who or what of value could fill that space made by Him and for Him? Only God can fill our deepest hungers. John 6:27-35

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. John 6:35

* “His church”, believers who gather together— not a structure, not religion.
† I am not associated with this organization or individual but on a quick search found the article informative.
Related text: religion vs. relationship: http://www.christinyou.net/pages/godhatesrel.html†

Copyright 2012 by Denise Cotter Rejoycin®
Leave a Reply

